At Yorckbrücken, on the Schöneberg side at Mansteinstrasse, you could experience wonderful nights at Ex’n’Pop. Or it was exceptional music or just asleep on the counter, you never got kicked out. Not even by Blixa Bargeld, who at that time mimed the bouncer. However, that was still in the days when Schöneberg was not populated by gays voting for Merkel and Green supporters paying condo rates. Schöneberg at that time was anything but civil, it was pretty fucked up to be correct.

Eventually the Ex’n’Pop inherited then the spaces of KOB at Potse. Although there are still hookers around, this area is now full of galleries and accordingly in a state of flux. The Ex’n’Pop, together with Kumpelnest3000, remains one of the last reserves for dignified drunkenness and decent music. It is still a Berlin refuge for artists and night owls. It is pretty strict but very hearty, too. You will be left alone and perhaps just therefore you easily get plugged into a conversation.

Now this institution is 30, and Christiane Ebel, the Manager of the bar, and Ilia Castellanos already decided in May to celebrate this ancient and proud West Berlin location. By no means this is a nostalgic programme, but a natural blend of literature, cinema, concerts, parties and performances.

First, the programme heads were obtained: Claudius Hagemeister for literature, Uli M Schüppel for cinema series and Anja Ibsch for performance evenings. Since music in Ex’n’Pop always is the overarching and unifying element, the own claim was resolved quickly with MDK (Mekanik Destruktïw Kommandöh), Wolfgang Müller (The Deadly Doris), Christoph Dreher (The skin) and Dr. Motte (Praxxiz).

But not everyone can be there, because schedules were already too full: Harry Hass, Blixa Bargeld, Sven Regner or Gudrun Gut unfortunately could not make it to enrich the programme in October. Maybe they might attend standing at the counter and maintain old rituals.

The entire anniversary programme runs totally on a donation basis, since such a small place like Ex’n’Pop cannot even dream about negotiating fees with Westbam. But there he is, simply because he combines best memories with Ex’n’Pop.

Saturday, October 11th from 21:00:
Concert: MDK – Mekanik Destrüktiw Kommandöh

 

Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

30 years Ex’n’Pop
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

An den Yorckbrücken, auf der Schöneberger Seite in der Mansteinstrasse, konnte man im Ex’n’Pop wunderbare Nächte erleben. Bei aussergewöhnlicher Musik oder schlafend am Tresen, herausgeschmissen wurde man nie. Auch nicht von Blixa Bargeld, der am Anfang mal den Türsteher mimte. Das war allerdings noch zu Zeiten, als Schöneberg nicht von CDU wählenden Schwulen und Eigentumswohnungsraten abbezahlenden Grünen Anhängern bevölkert wurde. Schöneberg war damals alles andere als bürgerlich, es war richtig abgefuckt.

Irgendwann beerbte das Ex’n’Pop dann die Räume des KOB in der Potse. Dort stehen zwar immer noch Nutten rum, doch die Gegend ist inzwischen voller Galerien und entsprechend im Umbruch. Das Ex’n’Pop ist zusammen mit dem Kumpelnest3000 eines der letzten Reservate gediegenen Saufens und natürlich der Musik. Es ist nach wie vor ein Berliner Fluchtort für Künstler und Nachtmenschen. Es geht streng und dennoch herzlich zu, man wird in Ruhe gelassen und kommt vielleicht gerade deshalb leicht ins Gespräch.

Jetzt wird diese Institution 30, und Christiane Ebel, die Chefin des Ladens, und Ilia Castellanos beschlossen bereits im Mai, diese alte und stolze Westberliner Lokalität gebührend zu feiern. Dabei steht kein nostalgisches Programm an, sondern eine natürliche Mischung von Literatur, Kino, Konzerten, Partys und Performances.

Zunächst wurden die Programm-Heads gewonnen: Claudius Hagemeister für die Literatur, Uli M Schüppel für die Kinoreihe und Anja Ibsch für die Performance-Abende. Da Musik im Ex’n’Pop schon immer das übergreifende und verbindende Element ist, wurde mit MDK (Mekanïk Destruktïw Kommandöh), Wolfgang Müller (Die Tödliche Doris), Christoph Dreher (Die Haut) und Dr. Motte (Praxxiz) sehr schnell der eigene Anspruch geklärt.

Doch nicht alle können dabei sein, denn ihr Terminkalender war bereits zu voll: Harry Hass, Blixa Bargeld, Sven Regner oder Gudrun Gut schafften es leider nicht, das Programm im Oktober zu bereichern. Vielleicht werden sie aber am Tresen stehen und alte Rituale pflegen.

Das komplette Jubiläumsprogramm läuft übrigens auf Spendenbasis ab, da ein so kleiner Laden wie das Ex’n’Pop etwa mit Westbam gar nicht erst über eine Gage verhandeln kann. Er ist da, er legt auf, ganz einfach weil er mit dem Ex’n’Pop beste Erinnerungen verbindet.

Freitag, 10. Oktober ab 21:00:
2. Futurologischer Kongress & Party: Dr. Motte’s Euphorhythm / Dr Walker – Asbest / Praxxiz – Space Teddy / Liquid Sky Berlin / Ed2000 – Dangerous Drums

Samstag, 11. Oktober ab 21:00:
Konzert: MDK – Mekanik Destrüktiw Kommandöh

 

Bitte empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks:

30 Jahre Ex’n’Pop
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: