On the way to Tiergarten to visit Academy of Fine Arts (AdK) at Hanseatenweg the rainy storm catches us, announced since days. S-Bahn is interrupted once again, so we run along the river Spree in direction Friedrichstrasse. As thick drops getting more dense, we are just at the underpass at Monbijoupark where a didgeridoo player plays his timeless, endless overtones in a trance. With one foot he´s kicking drums simultaneously, also a rattle is used. The acoustics here is perfect, the rain is getting stronger. The underpass is full of people who wait until the long shower ends, as the musician suddenly awakes from his trance, stops playing and wonders visibly over the great deal of folks watching him.

Arrived at Bellevue the AdK is very well attended, because it’s a tuesday afternoon. Admission is free. Lots of audience jostling in front of the portrait photographs by Gisèle Freund, who has photographed the most important writers of the last century. Becket, Benjamin and many others, mostly in black and white. Coloured photographs from the 30s stand out, as well as footage from Berlin from the 50s. Around Straußberger place it looks like a field, the two towers of the Stalin Allee in the background. Not even to dream of a fountain in that place. After the removal of debris, a big void there is anywhere in Berlin at that time.

Corinne Wasmuth: Detail

But we´re here to see the second exhibition. Large-format paintings by Corinne Wasmuht, who this year received the annual award by the Academy, the famous Käthe Kollwitz Prize. Her painting is difficult to classify. From a distance, by far, her images resemble abstract photographs. Lines, light effects, individual plastic figures and elements are recognizable. Up close, however, dominate impressionistic painting reminiscent details. Polka dots and trimmed with a cutter, recessed reliefs give her work depth and three-dimensionality. Some of the concrete, plastic figures stand on the head, reminding Georg Baselitz, others dissolve in the abstract. Different levels require precise observation, the structure seems to correspond to layers in Photoshop. But here everything is painted with a brush, detailed and precise craftsmanship, that puts our eye, accustomed to digitally processed images, on a test.

In the outdoor area of the Academy and later at Tiergarten a wonderfully fresh scent after the rain, lush green soothes the eye. Rabbits hopping across the precisely trimmed lawn at the residency of the president, looking like living sculptures. The sun comes out again, it’s time for the return journey.

Until Sunday, August 10, in the Academy of Fine Arts
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin

Tue – Sun 11-19 clock
04 / 06 € (combined ticket with Gisèle Freund)

 

Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

Painting and Photography at AdK
Tagged on:     
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Auf dem Weg nach Tiergarten zur Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg erwischt uns dann doch das seit Tagen angekündigte Gewitter. Die S-Bahn ist mal wieder unterbrochen, deshalb laufen wir entlang der Spree zur Friedrichstrasse. Als dicke Tropfen immer dichter werden sind wir gerade an der Unterführung am Monbijoupark, wo ein Didgeridoo-Spieler in Trance seine zeit- und endlosen Obertöne spielt. Mit einem Fuß betätigt er noch dazu Drums, auch eine Rassel kommt zum Einsatz. Die Akustik hier ist perfekt, der Regen wird immer stärker. Die Unterführung ist voller Menschen, die alle das Ende des langen Schauers abwarten, als der Musiker aus seiner Trance erwacht, zu spielen aufhört und sich sichtbar über die vielen Zuschauer wundert.

In Bellevue angekommen ist die AdK sehr gut besucht, denn es ist Dienstag Nachmittag. Der Eintritt ist frei. Viel Publikum drängelt sich vor den Portraitfotografien von Gisèle Freund, die die wichtigsten Literaten des letzten Jahrhunderts abgelichtet hat. Becket, Benjamin und viele andere, meist in schwarz weiß. Kolorierte Fotografien aus den 30ern stechen hervor, ebenso wie Aufnahmen aus Berlin aus den 50ern. Der Straußberger Platz wirkt etwa wie ein Acker, die beiden Türme der damaligen Stalinallee im Hintergrund. Von einem Brunnen noch nicht einmal etwas zu erahnen. Nach der Beseitigung der Trümmer herrscht überall in Berlin eine große Leere.

Corinne Wasmuth: Detail

Doch wir sind wegen der zweiten Ausstellung hier. Großformatige Malereien von Corinne Wasmuht, die dieses Jahr den jährlich von der Akademie vergebenen Käthe-Kollwitz-Preis erhalten hat. Ihre Malerei ist schwierig einzuordnen. Aus der Ferne, mit Abstand wirken ihre Bilder wie abstrahierte Fotografien. Linien, Lichteffekte, einzelne plastische Figuren und Elemente sind erkennbar. Aus der Nähe jedoch dominieren an impressionistische Malerei erinnernde Details. Tupfen und mit dem Cutter ausgeschnittene, vertiefte Reliefs verleihen ihrem Werk Tiefe und Dreidimensionalität. Einige ihrer konkreten, plastischen Figuren stehen wie bei Georg Baselitz auf dem Kopf, andere lösen sich im Abstrakten auf. Verschiedenen Ebenen erfordern genaues Hinsehen, der Aufbau scheint Layern bei Photoshop zu entsprechen. Doch hier ist alles mit dem Pinsel gemalt, detaillierte und präzise Handarbeit, die unser an digital bearbeitete Bilder gewohntes Sehen auf die Probe stellt.

Im Außenbereich der Akademie und später im Tiergarten dann ein wunderbar frischer Duft nach dem Regen, sattes Grün beruhigt das Auge. Kaninchen hoppeln über den akkurat gestutzten Rasen des Bundespräsidialamtes, lebendigen Skulpturen gleich. Die Sonne kommt kurz raus, es ist Zeit für den Rückweg.

Noch bis So, 10. August in der Akademie der Künste
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin

Di – So 11 – 19 Uhr
6/4 € (Kombiticket mit Gisèle Freund)

 

Empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks:

Malerei und Fotografie in der AdK
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Markiert in:    
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: