There had been a lot of devastating critics about Berlin Biennial at Kunstwerke, but the real novelty of this Biennial is its spread to Dahlem this year. Haus am Waldsee and Staatliche Museen Dahlem present modern art in their rooms, and especially at Ethnologisches Museum at Lansstraße this leads to surprising perspectives and contrasts.

This is because the exhibits of the Biennial are presented alongside the regular exhibits. Partly in their own rooms, sometimes in front of other historical works of art from around the globe and coming from all cultures. OD of art input is guaranteed, and in any case you should plan enough time for this visit. Because there are a lot of video works, and particularly outstanding is the work UNRAVEL by Anri Sala, which you reach via a small staircase.

The high, dark room is classically decorated. Just a video screen, two benches, some speakers. All this is reminiscent of a prayer room, and this corresponds perfectly well with the video itself.

This shows a woman in a bright room, which is much higher than the projection room where the observer is located. Daylight penetrates and shows her face clearly, her absolute concentration. The door is open. The woman is absolutely focused, but she does not pray, but wearing headphones and spinning two turntables and working the mixer. Looks like the classical DJ setting, but we’ve known from the very beginning that is not the case.

Because we listen to classical music which gets mixed here. Which gets scratched and superimposed. Surprising sounds, aesthetic sounds. No DJane in the traditional sense, because coming entirely without any electronic sounds. This is classical music remixed, enriching our listening habits and making evident our most carefully selected boundaries of our taste of music. The surprising factor is simply much larger in the classical music genre. Everything is cut up, ReMix, everything gets a new speed and spin. Strings are stalled. Timpani are trembling extremely slow. Crescendi accumulate in ecstasy. This creates new impact, and this is particularly disturbing because classical music is written down in it´s own language. Traditional rules of listening to classical music are simply overridden here. And they are combined with the skills of the DJane and therefore widely expanded. If only for these sounds in this double cathedral by Anri Sala it pays off to visit Dahlem.

 

Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

Dahlem Cathedral by Anri Sala
Tagged on:         
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Zur Berlin Biennale in den Kunstwerken wurde in diesem Jahr schon viel Vernichtendes geschrieben, doch das eigentlich Neue der Biennale ist deren Ausbreitung nach Dahlem in diesem Jahr. Das Haus am Waldsee und die Staatlichen Museen Dahlem präsentieren in ihren Räumen moderne Kunst, und gerade in den Museen in der Lansstrasse führt dies zu überraschenden Perspektiven und Kontrasten.

Denn die Exponate der Biennale werden inmitten der regulären Exponate des Ethnologischen Museums präsentiert. Zum Teil in eigenen Räumen, manchmal auch vor anderen historischen Kunstwerken aus aller Welt und aller Kulturen. Reizüberflutung ist also garantiert, und man sollte in jedem Fall genug Zeit für diesen Besuch einplanen. Denn es werden sehr viele Videoarbeiten im Rahmen der Biennale dort präsentiert. Besonders herausragend dabei ist die über eine kleine Treppe zu erreichende Arbeit UNRAVEL von Anri Sala.

Der hohe, dunkle Raum ist klassisch eingerichtet. Ein Videoscreen, zwei Bänke, Lautsprecher. Das alles erinnert an einen Andachtsraum, und dies korrespondiert hervorragend mit dem gezeigten Video selbst.

Dieses zeigt eine Frau in einem hellen Raum, der noch wesentlich höher als der Projektionsraum ist, in dem sich der Zuschauer befindet. Tageslicht dringt ein und zeigt ihr Gesicht deutlich, ihre absolute Konzentration. Die Tür steht offen. Die Frau ist absolut fokussiert, doch sie betet nicht, sondern trägt Kopfhörer und bedient zwei Plattenspieler sowie den Mixer. Das klassische DJ-Setting also, doch wir wissen bereits seit dem Eintreten, dass dem nicht so ist.

Denn wir hören klassische Musik, die hier gemixt wird. Gescratcht wird. Übereinandergelegt wird. Überraschende Sounds, ästhetische Klänge. Eben keine DJane im klassischen Sinne, so ganz ohne elektronische Klänge. Sondern Klassik remixed, unsere Hörgewohnheiten bereichernd und uns unsere bisher sorgfältig gewählten Grenzen unseres Musikgeschmacks aufzeigend. Der überraschende Faktor ist in diesem klassischen Genre einfach wesentlich grösser. Alles ist Cut Up, ist ReMix, alles bekommt eine neue Geschwindigkeit. Streicher werden abgewürgt. Pauken erzittern extrem langsam. Crescendi kumulieren in Ekstase. Dadurch erst entsteht das Neue, und dies wirkt bei klassischer Musik wegen ihrer in einer eigenen Sprache niedergeschriebenen und festgelegten Werke besonders verstörend. Denn hier werden traditionelle Regeln des Hörens klassischer Musik außer Kraft gesetzt. Und mit dem Können der DJane kombiniert und erweitert. Schon alleine wegen dieser Klänge in der von Anri Sala bespielten doppelten Kathedrale lohnt sich der Besuch in Dahlem.

 

Empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks weiter:

Dahlemer Kathedrale von Anri Sala
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Markiert in:        
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: