Once upon a time, it was really wild. Since there were no rules, but a lot of space. Money was no object, people’s time was engaged with the realization of dreams. Everybody was talking to each other, developing ideas that then by no means disappeared in the drawer, but were implemented immediately.

What sounds like a fairy tale, back then was reality in Berlin. At that time, after the wall came down, a state with all its rules just ceased to exist. And the new state, coming in from the west, still wasn’t present. The borders were open, and East Berlin evolved rapidly into a Mecca of art devotees from all over the world. No, there were no art devotees, not even artists. Just human beings who were at the right place at the right time. They were not overwhelmed by the freedom that suddenly showed up, but immediately took advantage of this very freedom.

How long this time lasted is not exactly clear, but the photo book Berlin Wonderland – Wild Years Revisited 1990-1996 roughly estimated 6 years. Maybe it was even less, but what by then teamed up on possibilities, what feeling of life there was, is very plastic when you contemplate the photos of Ben de Biel, Hendrik Rauch, Philipp von Recklinghausen, Stefan Schilling, Hilmar Schmund, Andreas Trogisch and Rolf Zöllner apparently. Seems like only boys had a camera at that time, such a contrast to present days. There were simply no mobiles, no cell phones at all, and therefore no culture of snapshots for everybody. Documentation was simply not hip.

The chic book published by bobsairport with the bright colors in contrast to these brilliant b/w photos and the pretty unusual Typo is a piece of jewellery that probably no one would have taken in hand at the time. Because there simply was no time for mere viewing, because it was constantly on the make. And it is particularly beautiful that this is more than a photo book. Short quotes deepen the former way of life to match the photos. As Hardy Hardenberger: “In 1993 I applied for a telephone connection. In 1996 the telephone company wrote me a letter, that the connection is wired now.”

The book succeeds to reopen this intense time and to heave back into consciousness. After all, this creative period characterizes the image of Berlin as an open, tolerant city until today. Even if the open spaces are now extremely reduced and, at least in Mitte, the approach is much more bourgeois. It’s fun, stimulating and is not merely sentimental, to look at this book.

You can purchase it directly via the photo agency bobsairport, or through Gestalten Verlag, which has taken over the Sales Department.

 

Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

Berlin Wonderland
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Es war einmal eine wilde Zeit. Da gab es keine Regeln, aber sehr viel Platz. Geld spielte keine Rolle, die Zeit der Menschen war mit der Realisierung von Träumen beschäftigt. Alle sprachen miteinander, entwickelten Ideen, die dann keineswegs in der Schublade verschwanden, sondern sofort umgesetzt wurden.

Was sich wie ein Märchen anhört, war in Berlin die Realität. Damals, nach dem Fall der Mauer, als ein Staat mit all seinen Regeln aufgehört hatte zu existieren und der neue Staat, der aus dem Westen, noch nicht im Osten angekommen war. Die Grenzen standen offen, und Ostberlin entwickelte sich rapide zum Mekka aller Kunstgläubigen aus aller Welt. Ach was, es waren keine Kunstgläubigen, auch keine Künstler. Es waren Menschen, die zum richtigen Zeitpunkt am richtigen Ort waren und sich von der Freiheit, die sich da plötzlich auftat, nicht überwältigen liessen, sondern diese Freiheit sofort nutzten.

Wie lange diese Zeit anhielt ist nicht genau belegt, doch das Fotobuch Berlin Wonderland – Wild Years Revisited 1990-1996 veranschlagt dafür 6 Jahre. Vielleicht waren es auch weniger, doch was sich damals in Berlin an Möglichkeiten auftat, welches Lebensgefühl herrschte, wird beim Anblick der Fotos von Ben de Biel, Hendrik Rauch, Philipp von Recklinghausen, Stefan Schilling, Hilmar Schmund, Andreas Trogisch und Rolf Zöllner sehr plastisch deutlich. Scheinbar hatten damals nur Jungs eine Kamera, noch so ein Unterschied zu heute. Es gab schlicht keine Telefone, schon gar keine Handys, und also keine Schnappschusskultur. Dokumentation war einfach nicht angesagt.

Das von bobsairport herausgegebene schicke Buch mit den knalligen Farben und der ausgefallenen Typo ist ein Schmuckstück, das damals wohl niemand in die Hand genommen hätte. Denn es blieb einfach keine Zeit zum bloßen Betrachten, weil man permanent am Machen war. Besonders schön an diesem Bildband ist, dass er mehr als ein Fotobuch ist. Kurze Zitate vertiefen das damalige Lebensgefühl passend zu den Fotos. Etwa das von Hardy Hardenberger: „1993 habe ich einen Antrag auf einen Telefonanschluss gestellt. 1996 hat mir die Telefongesellschaft einen Brief geschrieben, dass der Anschluss nun freigeschaltet sei.“

Dem Buch gelingt es spielend, diese intensive Zeit neu aufzurollen und wieder ins Bewusstsein zu hieven. Immerhin prägt diese kreative Periode das Image Berlins als offene, tolerante Stadt bis heute. Auch wenn sich die Freiräume inzwischen extrem verringert haben und es zumindest in der Mitte der Stadt wesentlich bürgerlicher zugeht. Es macht Spaß, regt an und ist nicht bloß sentimental, dieses Buch zu betrachten.

Beziehen kann man diesen Fotoband direkt über die Fotoagentur bobsairport oder aber über den Gestalten Verlag, der den Vetrieb übernommen hat.

 

Empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks weiter:

Berlin Wonderland
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: