This time it´s not directly about any news in Berlin itself, but about Frederic Wake-Walker who ran the temporary Mica Moca project berlin together with me and some other crazy folks in 2011.

Frederic is dedicated to get Opera tot he next level, working site specific. He destroys the encrusted structures of Opera is is pretty successful doing so. Each artist that he has picked for this project brings something new to the soundscape of opera. It´s all about stretching the boundaries of what opera can be and who it is for, making this genre interesting for people which had no interest in Opera before.

This time it´s about a new project: Folie à Deux, bringing together British composer Emily Hall and Icelandic writer Sjón, who is cult on his home island and worked with Björk before. The result is six exquisite songs, woven together for soprano (Sofia Jernberg), tenor (Allan Clayton), harp (Ruth Wall) and a specially created electro-magnetic harp. The project is unique in that it has been conceived as both a concept album and a piece of theatre.

The album will be released before the first staged performance, giving the audience the chance to know the music before they come along. Folie à Deux will have its world première at Borealis Festival in Norway on 11 March 2015. There will be a special preview concert of the music at Spitalfields Music Winter Festival in London on 16 December 2014.

To publish the album in February 2015 it needs about £15,000, still £3,000 are missing. That´s why a kickstarter project was launched recently. It would be very helpful if you please could participate! Any money that is raised beyond this will go into Mahogany Operas ‘New Fund’, helping to commission more young composers.

Music: Emily Hall
Words: Sjón
Director: Frederic Wake-Walker
Lighting: Dan Large
Sound: Sound Intermedia
Vocals: Sofia Jernberg

16 December 2014
Spitalfields Music Winter Festival – Exclusive preview gig

11 & 12 March 2015
Borealis Festival, Bergen – World Premiere

 

Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

Folie à Deux – Kickstarter
Tagged on:
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Diesmal geht es ausnahmsweise einmal nicht um eine Veranstaltung in Berlin, sondern um ein Projekt von Frederic Wake-Walker. Mit ihm und einigen anderen verrückten Machern habe ich 2011 das temporäre Mica Moca project berlin aus der Taufe gehoben.

Frederic ist seit Jahren dabei, Oper auf ein neues Level zu heben, indem er site specific arbeitet. Er zerstört die verkrusteten Strukturen traditioneller Oper und hat damit immensen Erfolg. Die Künstler mit denen er arbeitet, tragen alle etwas Neues zum Klangbild der Oper bei. Es geht dabei immer um die Ausweitung der Grenzen von Oper, und dabei wird Oper auch für bisher nicht an dieser Kunstform interessierte Menschen spannend.

Jetzt geht es um ein neues Projekt: Folie à Deux, bei dem die britische Komponistin Emily Hall und der isländische Autor Sjón, der in Island Kultstatus genießt und u.a. auch mit Björk gearbeitet hat, zusammengebracht werden. Heraus kamen dabei sechs aussergewöhnliche Stücke für Sopran (Sofia Jernberg), Tenor (Allan Clayton), Harfe (Ruth Wall) sowie eine speziell kreierte elektromagnetische Harfe. Es ist ein einzigartiges Projekt, das sowohl als Konzeptalbum als auch als Theaterstück reüssieren wird.

Dabei soll das Album vor der Premiere erscheinen, um dem Publikum die Möglichkeit zu geben sich bereits zuvor damit auseinanderzusetzen. Folie à Deux wird am 11. März 2015 beim Borealis Festival in Norwegen Premiere haben, zuvor wird es bereits am 16. Dezember beim Spitalfields Music Winter Festival in London ein Preview Konzert geben.

Um das Album, das 15000 £ kosten wird, im Februar 2015 herausbringen zu können, fehlen im Augenblick noch 3000 £. Um diese Summe aufbringen zu können wurde ein Kickstarter Projekt gestartet. Es wäre sehr hilfreich, wenn Du dies unterstützen könntest! Falls mehr als der erforderliche Betrag zusammenkommen sollte, wird dieses Geld in den Neuen Fonds von Mahogany Opera gehen, um damit junge Komponisten zu unterstützen.

Musik: Emily Hall
Text: Sjón
Inszenierung: Frederic Wake-Walker
Licht: Dan Large
Sound Sound Intermedia
Stimme: Sofia Jernberg

16. Dezember 2014
Spitalfields Music Winter Festival – Exclusive Preview Veranstaltung

11. & 12. März 2015
Borealis Festival, Bergen – Welt Premiere

 

Bitte empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks:

Folie à Deux – Kickstarter
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Markiert in:
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: