Yesterday in the late afternoon, it is still pretty hot. Even on the Tempelhofer field, that may indeed remain wide open after the referendum, the cyclists and joggers move extremely slowly. Everybody wants to find some shade, only there is hardly any. It fits perfectly that some reggae tunes can be heard, because a live band is playing next to a building that looks like just fallen out of the sky.

The band is called Antinational Embassy, the musicians are refugees and live in the occupied Gerhard-Hauptmann-School in Kreuzberg. And the building is not a UFO, even if it is circular and can boast a transparent roof. There are 28 doors, through which curious people may pass inside. Every single door symbolizes one of the EU states that try with pretty stringent laws to keep the outside world outside of Europa and seek to prevent immigration with their police force Frontex if ever possible.

Again and again, refugees die therefore on the high seas, every day. This reality gets into European vision only if lots of refugees make it to Lampedusa or were shot with rubber bullets by the Guardia Civil in Melilla and Ceuta, the Spanish fortresses in North Africa. It is actually clear that there are more and more refugees worldwide. War, hunger, persecution displace more people from their homes each year, and no one is leaving voluntarily and of course nobody likes to leave home. But in Europe, the subject is largely hushed, if refugees are not defending themselves against refugee camps, duty of residence and deportation like they do in Kreuzberg.

Over two years ago, the project House of 28 Doors was developed, says Katharina Koch, one of the three curators. Now the financing was on very short notice with funds from the Lottery Foundation. Thus, the house made of wood was built, and three screens and playback devices rented. On these video loops refugees speak for themselves, something really uncommon. This presentation was realized by the Movement Nurr.

In the following two weeks, every day there will be an event on the subject of refugees. The next one will take place on Monday, July 28. At 7pm Dr. Tankred Stöbe, president of Doctors Without Borders and Dr. Ulrike von Pilar, Head of Humanitarian Issues Office Berlin, will discuss on the topic of Refugee camps as a trap? The dilemma of humanitarian aid.

But what happens after these two weeks with the House of the 28 Doors, unfortunately, is not clear at all. It would be desirable, of course, that it is going on tour and is rebuilt in front of the Reichstag. However, the very short-term realization of this project prevents appropriate arrangements with other institutions or places, also there is no money for an ongoing rebuilding. It is to be hoped that there still is a possibility for the continuation of this project, which in the very best sense is pretty educational.

MOVEMENT NURR
THE HOUSE OF 28 DOORS
Until August 10, 2014
Tempelhofer Feld
Main entrance Oderstrasse, Berlin-Neukölln

 

Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

The House of 28 doors
Tagged on:     
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Gestern am späten Nachmittag ist es immer noch ziemlich heiß. Selbst auf dem Tempelhofer Feld, das ja nach dem Volksentscheid so weit und offen bleiben kann, bewegen sich die Radfahrer und Jogger extrem langsam. Wer kann sitzt im Schatten, nur gibt es den hier kaum. Sehr passend dazu ist Reggae zu hören. Und das sogar live, denn neben einem wie vom Himmel gefallenen Gebäude spielt eine Band.

Diese nennt sich Antinational Embassy, die Musiker sind Flüchtlinge und wohnen in der besetzten Gerhard-Hauptmann-Schule in Kreuzberg. Und das Gebäude ist doch kein Ufo, auch wenn es kreisrund ist und ein transparentes Dach vorweisen kann. Es gibt 28 Türen, durch die Neugierige ins Innere gelangen. Jede einzelne Tür symbolisiert einen der EU-Staaten, die sich gemeinsam mittels immer schärferer Gesetze weitgehend von der Außenwelt abschotten und Immigration mit ihrer Polizeitruppe Frontex möglichst zu verhindern versuchen.

Immer wieder sterben deshalb Flüchtlinge auf hoher See, jeden Tag. Diese Realität bekommt der Europäer nur mit, falls es doch einmal viele Flüchtlinge bis etwa nach Lampedusa schaffen oder in Melilla und Ceuta, den spanischen Festungen in Nordafrika, Menschen mit Gummigeschossen von der Guardia Civil erschossen werden. Dabei ist eigentlich klar, dass es weltweit immer mehr Flüchtlinge gibt. Kriege, Hunger, Verfolgung vertreiben jedes Jahr mehr Menschen aus ihrer Heimat, die niemand freiwillig und schon gar nicht gerne verlässt. Doch in Europa wird das Thema weitgehend totgeschwiegen, falls Flüchtlinge sich nicht wie zuletzt in Kreuzberg gegen Lager, Residenzpflicht und Abschiebung wehren.

Bereits vor über zwei Jahren wurde das Projekt Haus der 28 Türen entwickelt, erzählt Katharina Koch, eine der drei Kuratorinnen. Jetzt wurde sehr kurzfristig aus Mitteln der Lottostiftung doch noch die Finanzierung ermöglicht. Damit wurde das aus Holz gebaute Haus errichtet sowie die Anmietung von drei Screens und Zuspielern ermöglicht. Auf diesen kommen in Videoloops Flüchtlinge selbst zu Wort, was ja wirklich selten vorkommt. Realisiert wurde diese Präsentation von der Bewegung Nurr.

In den folgenden zwei Wochen findet jeden Tag eine Veranstaltung zum Thema Flüchtlinge statt, die nächste am Montag, den 28. Juli. Um 19 Uhr werden Dr. Tankred Stöbe, Präsident von Ärzte ohne Grenzen und Dr. Ulrike von Pilar, Leiterin Humanitäre Fragen Büro Berlin, zum Thema Flüchtlingslager als Falle? Das Dilemma der Humanitären Hilfe sprechen.

Doch was anschliessend aus dem Haus der 28 Türen wird, steht leider in den Sternen. Wünschenswert wäre natürlich, dass es auf Reisen geht und etwa nach den zwei Wochen vor dem Reichstag aufgebaut wird. Doch die sehr kurzfristige Realisierung verhindert natürlich entsprechende Absprachen mit anderen Institutionen oder Orten, außerdem ist für einen Ab- und anschliessenden Wiederaufbau kein Geld vorhanden. Es ist zu hoffen, dass sich trotzdem eine Möglichkeit zur Fortsetzung dieses im besten Sinne aufklärerischen Projektes ergibt.

BEWEGUNG NURR
DAS HAUS DER 28 TÜREN
Noch bis zum 10. August 2014
Tempelhofer Feld
Haupteingang Oderstrasse, Berlin-Neukölln

 

Empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks:

Das Haus der 28 Türen
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Markiert in:    
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: