Holiday time in Berlin, which still doesn´t mean the cease of any artistic programme. But it is definitely quieter during summer, many institutions are simply closed. Anyway, this year August offers something entirely new, namely the Project Space Festival. On the initiative of insitu, based at Kurfürstenstrasse, 30 very different project spaces will show a very heterogeneous programme on each day of the month. It’s also about what is a project space at all.

The kick-off was designed yesterday evening by Import Projects, a project space located at a huge mansion at the first floor of a stately old building. High ceilings, white walls; very tidy is the first impression. The first two rooms completely empty, but in the third room have already gathered about 100 summerly dressed young people in front of a video still. They showed up for the screening of Gonda, a film by Ursula Mayer which debates new narrative structures. It is very hot inside, but the international audience is highly concentrated.

Excerpt from GONDA by Ursula Mayer

The film is about the limits of the medium film itself, which could be dismissed as experimental fashion film with feature elements at the first sight. Frequencies and dialogues mix on the acoustic level as well as interference and gestures on the visual. Gonda, partially filmed on the volcano Etna, negotiates the choice of the individual. And this both on a sexual level, which is already clear in the occupation of the transgender model Valentijn de Hingh in the foreground role – starring would be too much in this experimental film playing with pieces by no means – and on a philosophical level as well.

Choices, options specify a recurring theme at least in the consumer societies of the West. After the screening director Ursula Meyer was present to debate, of course in English, and to answer questions. The timeliness of the film realized in 2012 with its raised questions and apparent answers was here particularly clear again.

The festival’s programme is broad-based and accordingly variable, just like its distributed over the entire inner city as far as Dahlem. Like the concept of the project space itself, which is defined by its respective creators, each with their own visions. This concept might be certainly a little clearer at the end of the month, in all ist diversity. And the project spaces will be definitely better cross-linked within each other, and, it is to be desired at least, they will be better known and more accessible to a broader audience.

Project Space Festival: Programme to 31. August


Please recommend Berlin Kicks:

Project Space Festival: 30 rooms in August
Tagged on:         

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Ferienzeit in Berlin, was zwar nicht die Einstellung jeglichen künstlerischen Programms bedeutet. Doch es ist definitiv ruhiger im Sommer, viele Institutionen haben geschlossen. Doch dieses Jahr bietet der August etwas völlig Neues, nämlich das Project Space Festival. Auf Initiative des in der Kurfürstenstraße in Schöneberg angesiedelten insitu werden 30 sehr unterschiedliche Projekträume an jedem Tag des Monats ein sehr heterogenes Programm zeigen. Dabei geht es auch darum, was ein Projektraum überhaupt ist.

Den Auftakt gestaltete gestern Abend Import Projects, ein in der ersten Etage eines herrschaftlichen Altbaus beheimateter Projektraum. Hohe Decken, weiße Wände; sehr aufgeräumt ist der erste Eindruck. Die ersten beiden Räume völlig leer, doch im dritten Raum haben sich bereits etwa 100 sommerlich gekleidete junge Menschen vor einem Videostandbild versammelt. Denn die Vorführung von Gonda, eines neue Erzählstrukturen auslotenden Films von Ursula Mayer, wird gleich beginnen. Es ist heiß, doch das internationale Publikum ist hochkonzentriert.

Ausschnitt aus GONDA von Ursula Mayer

Im Film geht es um die Limits des Mediums Film, der beim ersten Sehen als experimenteller Fashion Film mit Feature Elementen abgetan werden könnte. Frequenzen und Dialoge mischen sich auf akustischer Ebene genauso wie Interferenzen und Gesten auf der visuellen. Gonda, teilweise auf dem Vulkan Ätna gedreht, verhandelt die Wahlmöglichkeiten des Individuums. Und dies sowohl auf der sexuellen Ebene, was schon bei der Besetzung des Transgender Models Valentijn de Hingh mit der im Vordergrund stehenden Rolle – Hauptrolle wird diesem mit experimentellen Versatzstücken spielenden Film keineswegs gerecht – als auch auf philosophischer Ebene.

Wahlmöglichkeiten eben, ein immer wiederkehrendes Thema zumindest in den Konsumgesellschaften des Westens. Im Anschluss stand die Regisseurin Ursula Meyer ausführlich zu einem Gespräch, selbstverständlich auf englisch, Rede und Antwort. Die Aktualität des 2012 realisierten Films mit seinen aufgeworfenen Fragen und scheinbaren Antworten wurde dabei noch einmal besonders deutlich.

Das Programm des Festivals ist breit angelegt und entsprechend variabel, genau wie seine über die gesamte Innenstadt bis hin nach Dahlem verteilten Räume. Das Konzept des Projektraums, das von seinen jeweiligen Machern mit ihren jeweils ganz eigenen Ideen definiert wird, ist Ende des Monats in seiner ganzen Vielfalt sicher ein wenig klarer. Und die Projekträume werden untereinander auf jeden Fall besser vernetzt und, so ist es zumindest zu wünschen, auch einem breiteren Publikum besser bekannt und zugänglich sein.

Project Space Festival: Programm bis 31. August

 

Empfehlen Sie Berlin Kicks:

Project Space Festival: 30 Räume im August
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Markiert in:        
Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: